On a roll

January 1, 2010 at 7:30 am | Posted in social media | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The nice lady who blogrolled me. I’m on the right, third from the bottom. The listing is alphabetical.

I keep a series of ‘Google Alerts’ (which I’ll describe fully in another post).

One of these alerts lets me know if the phrase The Feisty Empire appears anywhere on the internet.

Last night, in the dying hours of 2009, this alert emailed me.

It said The Feisty Empire been ‘blogrolled’ on the MarketCopywriter Blog.

I clicked the link and there it was: my company name – right next to Seth Godin’s blog!

This was an amazing coincidence, as I’d only recently learned of my inclusion in Seth’s book Purple Cow.

MarketCopywriter Blog’s author, Lorraine Thompson, is a New York Hudson Valley freelance copywriter who writes print and digital copy for corporate, small business and non-profit clients.

I’d ‘known’ her for a few months via Twitter as a smart, kind, switched-on lady who wrote excellent copy and was generous in retweeting my content.

I never suspected she’d put a link to my site on her blog. Especially as we’re technically competitors!

Perhaps Lorraine, like me, believes in making the work ‘pie’ bigger, rather than fighting for pieces.

Apart from the social validation, I knew from reading ProBlogger and Copyblogger that being blogrolled would trigger a fresh stream of visitors to my website.

It’d also improve my online search ranking.

So, with half of Melbourne pouring into town for the fireworks, I dived into WordPress to learn how to blogroll.

I got a bit confused by the blogroll jargon before realising that Links, Add New was where I needed to be. Once I knew what I was doing, it was easy.

I sent Lorraine a direct message (DM) via Twitter, thanking her and letting her know I’d returned the favour.

Then, still possessed by the positive vibe, I set about blogrolling the blogs and websites of my other online ‘friends’ (see below).

I enjoyed blogrolling those I admire and respect. See them at bottom right.

It gave me real pleasure to inform each person – especially when one replied with the same surprise and delight I’d felt.

I’d heard about the Law of Mutual Reciprocity – where you have the urge to help someone who’s helped you. But I’ve seldom felt it so strongly.

Anyway, that’s how I ended 2009. Not a bad note to finish on at all! 🙂

It’ll be fascinating to see what benefits flow to everyone involved in this blogrolling process.

🙂

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Paul,
    I really love the post and the “Pay If Forward” mood it has. I’m delightfully surprised, flattered, and truly honored to be part of your blogroll! It means a lot that you chose my blog out of the “katrillion” others out there.

    What a way to start 2010 off! This definitely sets the tone for the year to come. Like I’ve told you so many times…you’re such a nice guy.

    Happy 2010 to you and thanks so much!
    Linda

  2. Thank you, Linda. It sounds like you feel exactly how I felt when Lorraine picked me out of the barrel!

    You were more than kind to me during 2009, so it’s only right you should take your place in my firmament of stars.

    Thanks for dropping by, and may 2010 be an absolute ripper for you! 🙂

  3. Hi, Paul:

    You are too kind to write this full post featuring little ole me. Thanks so much.

    The community-building aspect of social media has been a huge gift–and something of a surprise to me. I love the “water cooler” benefits since–as you know–sole proprietorship can be solitary.

    I find it delightful to “meet,” chat and share tricks-of-the-trade with fellow copywriters around the world.

    The truth is, I don’t see these professional friendships as competitive. First off, we’re on opposite ends of the world.

    Secondly, we likely specialize in different industries, media, etc. In these economically challenging times, I consider it an asset to know other marketing experts, exchange info and resources–and even refer work when appropriate.

    All part of providing excellent service to our customers, no?

    Looking forward to many fun and productive exchanges in the New Year.

  4. Dear Lorraine, I’m so relieved you like the post. I impetuously asked your permission after posting, and have been sweating on your response ever since!

    Many thanks for the use of your name and blog. I agree with all you say, but watch your back. I’m in negotiations with a prospective client in North Carolina! Mwah ha haaa!

    You were a stand-out discovery for me last year. I too greatly look forward to our further interactions. 🙂

  5. Hi Paul
    Fabulous post, it just bubbles with excitement and newness and we know how contagious that can be. I’m thrilled to be included in your blogroll, really the only word I have is WOW. How nice to start the year with opportunities abounding. Plus I love your attitude of gratitude. Especially since for me personally the whole concept of blogging is so brand new.
    Looking forward to sharing ideas, laughs and growth in 2010 and beyond.

    • Good on you, Ensha! You just demonstrated why you so deserve to appear on this blog. Your spirit is in high demand and short supply. So thank you for being a part of this journey. I hope you learn a truckload. Best regards, P. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

