Organisational benefits of LinkedIn

January 14, 2010 at 7:58 am | Posted in social media | 6 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Professional connections thrive on LinkedIn. Pic by carolanross

I’ve noticed that one of my larger client’s staff are joining LinkedIn.

I consider this a very good thing, for several reasons.

If all the firm’s managers end up on LinkedIn, they can check each other out and get a better understanding of their various backgrounds and skills.

This could make it easier to assign the right people to projects.

It may also uncover special talents in the workforce the company never knew it had.

This client recently merged. I believe LinkedIn will foster harmony through understanding between members of the two former (and quite different) firms.

It’ll also help my client keep an eye on retrenched staff who may try to ‘augment’ their LinkedIn profile dishonestly by claiming false titles and expertise.

On the other side of the coin, my client could start an ‘alumni’ of good, friendly ex-employees his firm would be glad to have back if their circumstances changed.

This would be very much cheaper than searching for strangers from scratch with recruitment firms.

I’m sure plenty of more options and benefits will reveal themselves. The important thing is to be involved.

If you’re a biggish organisation (public, private or not for profit) LinkedIn is a good, professional forum for your people to gather in.

Paul Hassing, Founder and Senior Writer, The Feisty Empire.

6 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Totally agree, Paul! LinkedIn has been of more benefit to me than all other similar tools, with the exception of my blog.

    More people should use it (and by that I don’t mean just signing up and doing nothing…)

    • I’m happy to hear it, Stephen. I really want readers like you to let me know whether (or not) they agree with what I say. I’m keen to keep it real in the house.

      I’m not a huge LinkedIn user, as I concentrate on Twitter and blogging. You can’t do everything. Are there any red hot LinkedIn tips you’d like to share? (Or will you keep those for YOUR blog!) 🙂

  2. I must admit I am not a big user, however it has been good connecting with people I used to work with.

    One thought is I am not sure why managers need LinkedIn to get to know each other and their backgrounds.

    • Gee you ask good questions, Susan; I love it! During my ten-year career in human resources, I observed managers who had sat next to each other for years and who were supposed to be working together, who knew nothing of each other’s strengths and interests.

      Add cubicles and the problem worsens. Bung them in offices, on different floors, in different buildings, at different sites, in different countries, and you truly have a collection of utter strangers allegedly striving towards the same goal.

      I see LinkedIn as a way to break this pack ice. I could be wrong, and if there’s anyone out there with an opposing view, I’d love to hear from them. Thanks again, Susan! 🙂

  3. Then isn’t up to the company to ensure this doesn’t happen. I have seen the same thing. Perhaps LinkedIn, especially groups is a way of breaking down the barriers in a more informal environment as you suggested.

    • You’re dead right (again!) Susan. No amount of top-down heavying is going to make staff get to know and love each other.

      LinkedIn is like a bottle of vodka in the punch bowl. It lets people loosen up and find each other without feeling nervous or uncomfortable.


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

